3rd January, 2002
Weekly Sports


By Pat Harrington.

Douglas finish hurling season on a high note League Champions.

Douglas and Bishopstown met in the A Grade U16 Hurling league decider having beaten arch rivals, Glen Rovers to reach the final. Douglas were the hottest of favourites, the question on everyone's mind was could they justify that favouritism.
Douglas were on top in the first quarter but only managed a two point advantage having had the lions share of the possession. The Bishopstown keeper brought off three point blank saves as the Westsiders regrouped and rocked Douglas on their heels with a goal on sixteen minutes. Douglas hit back with four unanswered scored, the last being a goal from Mark Harrington while Stephen Bermingham was very influential in his game. Douglas had a lead of 1-6 to 1-1 at the break.

Bishopstown scored a goal within minutes of the restart boosting the sides confidence and finding the net again after quarter of an hour, were ahead for the first time in the game. Douglas struggled in all quarters of the pitch but a fortuitous goal from a sixty five awarded to Douglas was the turning point in the game. Eoin Cadogan won a ball in defence and delivered a great ball behind the Bishopstown defence to the stick of Mark O'Callaghan who soloed on to finish the move with a clinical goal. The final score Douglas 3-10 Bishopstown 3-3. After the game Colin Lahive was presented with the League Cup, the first League Title at this level for the club.

Frank Tobin had a very consistent game while young Stephen Moylan made a huge impact at wing forward. A speedy recovery to Jerry O'Kane who sustained a finger injury. This was a squad effort and congratulations are due to all concerned on a very successful and historic season, winning both the A Grade County and Grade League titles.

The teams availed of the new dressing rooms on the day where the heating was welcomed on such a cold day. The new complex is a credit to all those people who had the vision over the years and to the committee who carried out the work. The club members can be proud of such a wonderful new building.


Mon 10Dec A. O'Donnell & J . Taylor -1st B & D O'Driscoll - 2nd
V. Mohally & F. Cunnane - 3rd N. Finn & O. Eisenring - 4th
Tues 11Dec am M. Madden & T. Long - 1st C. Bennett & O. Cotter - 2nd
P. O'Mahony & B. Conneely - 3rd V. Brownlow & F. Hurley - 4th
Tues 11Dec pm A. Auchincloss & P. Aherne - 1st L. O'Hanlon & E. Hendrick - 2nd
B. Murpy & N. Trihy - 3rd R. Walsh & D. Forde - 4th
Tues 11Dec Novice B. O'Dwyer & C. Smith 1st N .& D. Murphy - 2nd
T. Hartnett & Partner - 3rd A. Hogan & Ml. O'Donoghue - 4th
Wed 12Dec am J. & E. Taylor - 1st H. Bowman & J. Daly - 2nd
M. Lantry & C. Nolan - 3rd R. McCarthy & A. Mulcahy -4th
Wed 12Dec am (Nov) C. Dwyer & M. Walsh -1st A. Lombard & N. Culligan - 2nd
T. Hartnett & E. Morrisson - 3rd N. Barry & C. Scannell - 4th
Wed 12Dec 7Tbls Mitchel V. O'Brien & I. Kerins 1st Ml. Murphy & F. Keohane -2nd
B. O'Riordan & P. O'Riordan - 3rd N. O'Sullivan & L. Flynn -4th
Wed 12Dec 8Tbls Howell A. Doolan & B. O'Sullivan - 1st B. Turner & M. O'Keeffe 2nd
J. O'Sullivan & N. Finn - 3rd Y. Sheeran & A. Keeshan 4th
Wed 12Dec Junior M. O'Reilly & A. O'Leary - 1st J. Horgan & F. Burns -2nd
M. Cronin & K. Lingwood 3rd M. Barnes & A. Goggin -4th
Thur 13Dec A. Auchincloss & O. Olden - 1st J & B. O'Sullivan -2nd
T O'Donoghue & T. Barriscale 3rd M. Daly & M. Maguire -4th



West Cork Indoor Bowls Open Licensed Triples (3-Bowl) Competition played on the 9th December 2001 in the Bandon Grammar School Sports Hall:
Quarter-finals: St Colums (P O'Sullivan) beat ICICYMA (P Barry, J Clive & P Lane)(6/6X7E), Conna (M O'Regan) beat Little Island (J Long, P Long & A Leahy), St Colums (D Crawford) beat Cobh (T Farrell, M Doherty & A Farrell)6/5X7E) and St Vincents (A Tanner) beat Brookfield (P O'Reilly, M O'Reilly & E
Semi-finals: Conna (M O'Regan) beat St Colums (P O'Sullivan, R J Payne & P Barrett) and St Colums (D Crawford) beat St Vincent's (A Tanner, Sr. Louise and N Quinn)
Final: Conna (Michael O'Regan, Bernadette O'Regan & Catherine O'Regan) beat St Colums (Dave Crawford, Chris Barrett & Tony
The Umpires on duty for the final day were Hazel Foley, Sam Jennings, Sean O'Mahony, Hazel Payne and Danny Twohig.
Congratulations to Sam Jennings and his Committee on the successful organisation of their Annual Competition
At the recent Annual General Meeting of the Cork Zone (I I B A) the following were elected to the Committee for the 2001/2002 season: Hazel Foley, Chairperson, Hazel Payne, Secretary/Treasurer, Paul Deegan, League Secretary, Michael J O'Shaughnessy, PRO, Brendan Hurley, Duty Rota Co-Ordinator, Theresa Burke, Bryan Clarke, Tom Lawton, Curry O'Kelly, John B O'Regan, Michael O'Regan, Albert Ruxton and Danny Twohig
Club News: Douglas Community School Club Championships played on the 16th December: Singles Semi-finals: N Kelleher beat Clair Murphy and A O'Sullivan beat Marie Kelleher Final: Ann O'Sullivan beat Norma Kelleher
Pairs Semi-finals : T Mc Carthy & A O'Sullivan beat Bob McCarthy & Matt Walsh and F Conlon & B Dunlea beat Des Papazian & Mary Boland
Final: Frank Conlon & Breda Dunlea beat Tony Mc Carthy & Ann O'Sullivan
Fixtures: Grange Frankfield IBC Open Draw Licensed Fours Competition for the South County Perpetual Trophy on Friday 11th, Saturday 12th & Sunday 13th January 2002 in Gleneagle Hotel , Killarney, Co Kerry
St Mary's Indoor Bowls Club Open Licensed Triples Tournament on Thursday 17th, Friday 18th, Saturday 19th, Sunday 20th, Thursday 24th, Friday 25th and Saturday 26th January 2002 in St Mary's National School Hall, Carrigaline

Back to Home Page