National Schools Girls   U15 Girls   U13 Boys
1 Scoil Mhuire, Ballincollig 1 St Josephs, Abbeyfeale 1 Colaiste Choilm A
2 Meenkilly 2 St Angelas A 2 Colaiste Choilm B
3 Gaelscoil Bheanntrai 3 St Angelas C 3 Midleton A
4 Togher 4 Ursuline Convent 4 Midleton B
    5 St Angelas B 5 Maria Immaculata
  National Schools Boys   U19 Girls   U15 Boys
1 Scoil Eoin A 1 St Angelas A 1 Colaiste Choilm
2 Scoil Eoin B 2 St Angelas B 2 Midleton A
3 Tirelton 3 Ursuline Convent 3 Midleton B
4 St Finbarrs, Bantry 4 Midleton A 4 Maria Immaculata
5 Togher A 5 Midleton B 5 Clonakilty
6 Togher B        
  National Schools Mixed   U15 Mixed   U19 Boys
1 Coppeen 1 Maria Immaculata A 1 Colaiste Choilm
2 Meenkilly A 2 Bandon Grammar A 2 Clonakilty A
3 Meenkilly B 3 Maria Immaculata B 3 Clonakilty B
4 Togher A 4 Bandon Grammar B 4 Midleton A
5 Gaelscoil Bheanntrai   U19 Mixed 5 Midleton B
6 Togher B 1 Bandon Grammar A 6 Midleton C
  U13 Girls 2 Maria Immaculata 6 Midleton D
1 St Joseph's Abbeyfeale 3 Bandon Grammar B    

MUNSTER SCHOOLS CUP 2006 by Owen Kelly

Coppeen NS, Mixed WinnersNew Boys St. Finbarr's NS, Bantry 51 Teams from 16 schools took part this year. In 2005 there were 41 teams from 12 Schools. This year there were three new schools competiting for the first time Tirelton NS, St. Finbarr's Boys NS, Bantry and St Joseph's Abbeyfeale. 8 Schools and 22 teams travelled up from West Cork, 2 Schools and 5 teams from Limerick, 6 schools and 24 teams from Cork. Congratulation to everyone who played and to the organisers who provided such an excellent event.

Oliver finds something extra but has to dig deep
Colaiste Choilm of Ballincollig emerged as the over-all champion when they grabbed three titles at the recently concluded Munster Schools' Cup which was held at the Parochial Hall in Churchfield on January 13. This is the biggest schools' tournament in Munster which attracted a record 54 teams from 18 schools with Midleton College sending a strong contingent of ten teams. However, it was Choilm which dominated the tournament with titles in the U19, U15 and U13 of the Boys' category.

Choilm did not have it easy winning their first title of the day in the Boys' U19 event. Playing in the opening first match, Choilm No 1 player, Ruairi Oliver was given a scare against Shane Buttimer of Clonakilty Community College A as he was trailing 0-2 after the second game, however, he reduced arrears to 1-2. Down 2-8 in the fourth game, Oliver called for 'time-out' and it worked for him as he narrowed the gap to 8-10 before winning four successive points to force the match into decider fifth game. Ruairi won the fifth game to give his team a morale-boosting start. James Herley and Kevin O'Keeffe won their matches to clinch the title for Choilm.

The U15 team of Aidan Grabe, Alex Cooney and Andrew Reck gave Choilm their second title by defeating Midleton College A on a score of 2-1. The talented Choilm A team consisting Ian Browne, Luke Prendergast and Ben Ahern added a third title, the Boys' U13 when they eliminated their B team 3-0.

St. Angela's College A retained the title they won last season when they beat all their opponents but one on a score of 3-0. The one exception for the Saints was the encounter against Ursulines Convent, Blackrock where they won two matches to one. The Saints B took second place. Players from both the A and B teams were members of their school which won the U19 title at last season All-Ireland Schools' Championships. The A team comprised Rebecca McCarthy, Katie McSweeney and Clare O'Callaghan whilst the B team is made up of Jackie Rea, Emily D'Arcy and Hazell Mullins.

St. Angela's College A missed by a whisker of capturing the Girls' U15 title when they lost narrowly to St. Joseph's of Abbeyfeale on a score of 1-2. Munster Junior player, Evelyn Mullane salvaged a point for the Saints when she defeated Kimberlee O'Brien in straight games. St. Joseph's trio of Naomi McCarthy, Kimberlee O'Brien and Danielle O'Riordan ousted Ursulines Convent, Blackrock 2-1 before winning on identical score of 3-0 against the Saints B and C teams to keep their record clean.

West Cork teams were far more superior in the mixed team events with Bandon Grammar A taking home the U19 title which they also won last season. They have in their team the experienced, Andrea Shorten to guide them to this victory. Maria Immaculata Community College A pipped Bandon Grammar A to second spot with the former having better match score ratio to win the U15 title. Immaculata has a 6-3 ratio while the Grammar school has 5-4.

In the National section, Scoil Eoin A retained the Boys' title by defeating their B team. Coppeen of West Cork also did the same by keeping the mixed title by beating their closest rival, Meenkilly A 2-1. Scoil Mhuire of Ballincollig won the Girls' title by eliminating all their opponents on a 3-0 score margin. Niamh Buttimer, Aisling Healy and Deirdre Murphy were in good form to bring the trophy to Ballincollig. Once again, Meenkilly of Abbeyfeale have to contend with second place following their mixed team footsteps.

Munster Schools' Cup 2005/2006 winners
National section
Boys: Scoil Eoin A, Ballincollig (Dillon Casey, Shane Horgan, Frank Down)
Girls: Scoil Mhuire, Ballincollig (Niamh Buttimer, Aisling Healy, Deirdre Murphy)
Mixed: Coppeen, West Cork (Amy Buttimer, Sean Hennessy, Paul Sullivan)

Secondary section:
Boys' U19: Colaiste Choilm, Ballincollig (Ruairi Oliver, James Herley, Kevin O'Keeffe)
Girls' U19: St. Angela's College A, Cork (Rebecca McCarthy, Katie McSweeney, Clare O'Callaghan)
Mixed U19: Bandon Grammar A, West Cork (Andrea Shorten, Vicky Stoutt, Keith Buttimer)
Boys' U15: Colaiste Choilm, Ballincollig (Aidan Grabe, Alex Cooney, Andrew Reck)
Girls' U15: St. Joseph's, Abbeyfeale (Naomi McCarthy, Kimberlee O'Brien, Danielle O'Riordan)
Mixed U15: Maria Immaculata Community College A, West Cork (Finn Glenn, Robin Smiles, Sinead Hennessy)
Boys' U13: Colaiste Choilm A, Ballincollig (Ian Browne, Luke Prendergast, Ben Ahern)

Munster Schools Cup Results 2005
  Primary School BOYS   U13 BOYS
1 Scoil Eoin A, Ballincollig 1 Thurles
2 Clogheen 2 Colaiste Choilm, Ballincollig
3 Scoil Eoin B 3 Scoil Eoin Primary School
  Primary School Girls   U13 GIRLS
1 Meenkilly, Abbeyfeale 1 St. Angelas A
2 Scoil Mhuire, Ballincollig 2 St.Angelas D
3 Clogheen, Cork 3 St. Angelas C
    4 St. Angelas B
  Primary School Mixed 5 = Ursuline College, Blackrock
1 Copeen   St. Angelas E
      St. Angelas F
  U15 BOYS   St. Angelas G
1 Colaiste Choilm, Ballincollig   St. Angelas H
2 CBS Thurles A    
3 CBS Thurles B   U15 GIRLS
4 Midleton A 1 St. Angelas A
5 = Hamilton High School 2 Bandon Grammer A
  Midleton B 3 Ursulines A
    4 St. Angelas B
  U19 BOYS 5 St. Angelas C
1 Midleton College A    
2 Bandon Grammer A   U19 GIRLS
3 Midleton College B 1 St.Angelas A
4 Midleton College C 2 Bandon Grammer A
    3 St. Angelas B
  U19 MIXED 4 Midleton College A
1 Bandon Grammar B 5 Midleton College B
2 Bandon Grammar A    

National School Boys Div 1: Scoil Eoin A, B & C, St.Mary's Enniskeane

National School Boys Div 2: Clogheen, Togher, Gael Scoil A, Gael Scoil B

National School Girls Div 1: Cloghenn, Gael Scoil Bantry

U13 Boys: Ballincollig, Colaiste Choilm, Midleton College

U13 Girls; St.Angelas D, A & E

U15 Div 1: Ballincollig C.C. CBS Thurles, Midleton College

U15 Boys Div 2: Clonakilty C.C. Maria Immaculata C.C. Midleton College

U15 Girls: Schull C.C. Ursulines B, St. Angelas A

U19 Boys: Colaiste Choilm A & B, Clonakilty C.C.

U19 Girls: St.Angelas C, B & A

U19 Mixed: Bandon Grammar A & B, Midleton College B