[ Green School ] [ Sport ] [ History ] [ Pupils work ] [ Links ] [ About us ] [ Extra Curricular ] [ Archive ]  
[ Bits and Bytes ] [ Our American Friends ] [ School News ] [ Our ABC of Portlaw ]
[ Site Contents ] [ Awards ]  [ Class Photographs ]  [Virtual Post Office]  [Virtual Nature Trail]


Trophy Retained in 2004
U-11's Complete Double
County Champions






The school has been very successful in schools hurling over the last twelve years. In 1987 we won our first schools titles when the U-13 team and the U-11 team both won the C division titles. The captains were Brian and Austin Hanrahan.  The U-13 team defeated Villierstown in the county final in The Fraher Field. Frankie Phelan was captain of the U-11 hurling team when we won the B Division Hurling in 1988. This year also saw us win the Primary Schools Skills competition under the captaincy of Brendan Lyons. This was the first of three wins in this competition.

Under-13 winners 1990

Back: Geoffrey Foley, David Kirwan, Patrick Duggan, Darren Walsh, Freddy Kelly,

Front: Vincent Keane, Emmet Cullinane, Thomas Phelan, Andrew Kirwan, Martin Hickey

Pictured with Billy Howlett and Dunhill cups

1990 saw us win the A Division in a never to be forgotten final against Mount Sion. We became the first rural school to win the Billy Howlett cup under the captaincy of David Kirwan. On the same night our B Team won the C Division title to complete a unique double.

The Dunhill 7-a-side tournament was one on a couple of occasions. Eoin Galvin led the team to another A Title in 1994 when the school defeated St. Pauls.

The school has always received great support from Portlaw G.A.A. Club. Until he became Parish Priest of Ballyporeen Fr. Joe Flynn had a permanent position behind the Portlaw goal and gave fantastic support to Mr. Curran and to the school teams.

After the disappointment of losing the U-11 final last year our team bounced back this year to defeat Ferrybank in the final.

Portlaw N.S. 1-7 Ferrybank 1-6

In an absolutely thrilling final played in Tramore on Tuesday June 20th the school U-11 hurling team defeated Ferrybank on a scoreline of 1-7 to 1-6. Despite conceding an early goal the Portlaw boys showed great character to lead at half time by three points. The second half was a tense affair and at the final whistle only the bare minimum separated the two teams. All eleven players were superb on the night, but special praise must go to Christopher Mackey who excelled at full back, captain Emmett Long in midfield along with Paul Power, and John Dee who was a constant threat to the Ferrybank defence.

Special praise must be mentioned to the coaching of Portlaw great Daithi Foran, who has coached these young hurlers from an early age, and this was evident throughout the difficult campaign.

Scorers: Paul Power 0-3, Emmet Long 0-3, John Dee 1-0, Niall Donnelly 0-1,

Team: Richard Fitzpatrick, Christopher Mackey, David Kearns, Jimmy O’Donoghue, Patrick Kearns, Emmet Long (capt.), Paul Power, John Dee, Darren Rockett, Niall Donnelly, Niall Fitzgerald

Subs: Stephen Keane, Thomas Murphy, James O’Connor, Denis O’Connor, Dean Cullinane, Nathan Walsh, Craig O’Neill.

Despite our small size the boys from Portlaw have shown that they can compete and win against even the largest city schools.

All the above teams can be seen in our Roll of Honour


[ Return to Top ] [ Contact Us ] [ Site Contents ]